Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Sioux Falls is one of those towns you rarely hear about, but when you have a chance to spend a few days exploring it, you come to realize it is (cliche alert) an undiscovered jewel. It’s a friendly town in general but the residents seem like a hardy sort who wouldn’t put up with a lot of nonsense. It must be a Midwestern thing. The older neighborhoods are still livable and well kept, with cropped lawns, elaborate flower beds and restored homes being common. It’s one of the rare places that when I’m driving around I think, “Yeah, I could live here.”

Of course, you can’t go to Sioux Falls without seeing the namesake falls, so here they are.

IMG_3818

The falls on the Big Sioux River.

contemplation

Contemplation

I've never been a fan of Canadian Geese. they rank just slightly above pigeons in my opinion. But sometimes they will pose for a decent picture.

I’ve never been a fan of Canadian Geese. They rank just just above pigeons in my opinion. But sometimes they will pose for a decent picture.

main st.

Downtown.

The most prominent feature of Sioux Falls has to be the cathedral on the hill. You can see it from a long way in almost any direction.

St. Joseph's Cathedral. Built in 1916.

St. Joseph’s Cathedral. Built in 1916.

IMG_3907Houses on Cathedral Hill.

homesThere are some beautiful restored homes on Cathedral Hill but there are also some pretty sketchy characters walking around. I didn’t notice any graffiti, so maybe the taggers and the preservationists have some kind of understanding.

About Truman

I am fast approaching my sixtieth year. I'm older but not old, wiser but not wise, and I still don't know what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

