The Oklahoma City Memorial

On this, my third visit to the Memorial, I took some photos just before sunset with an iPhone. The first picture in the series is a failed attempt at a low-light HDR photo, but I liked the look of it so I included it anyway.

It’s hard to put in words what it feels like to be here. For me, that day in 1995 is one of those “where were you when you heard” days. I remember, very clearly, standing in my kitchen and watching as the horror played out on live television. The truck-bomb was parked on NW. 5th Street, which was more or less where the reflection pool is now. Each chair represents one of the 168 people killed in the explosion. The pattern of the chairs depicts the floor of the building where each victim was located when the bomb went off. Every chair has a name etched into the glass base, which personalizes the experience and, for me, is what makes it so moving.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageThis last one is a shot of downtown taken on the street just outside of the Memorial. Image

About Truman

I find myself on the downside of my sixtieth year, older but not old, wiser but not wise, and still wondering what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in 2012 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

