Northern Colorado

The best thing about Loveland, Colorado is that it’s in northern Colorado, at the foot of the Rocky Mountains. The worst thing about Loveland is that it’s in northern Colorado, on the edge of the High Plains, which is also home to large numbers of cattle feed lots, so that in the morning especially, you are likely to be knocked to your knees by the stench in the air. Otherwise Loveland is a clean and prosperous little town with a lot to offer, and if I had to live there, I think I could do it quite easily.

streetDowntown Loveland.

lake statueLike a lot of towns in this part of the country Loveland has a large number of public statues. I don’t know why this is. Here are some of them.

statue2

statue

millAn old mill or something with a Colorado touch. If you are wondering there are no pot shops in Loveland yet. I checked.

IMG_3756Artwork on the side of a Loveland building.

stanley3The Stanley Hotel in Estes Park. Supposedly the inspiration for Stephen King’s The Shining. Redrum.

mountains closeThe view from just below the Stanley Hotel.

estes park-640The same view from higher up on the Stanley grounds taken around 1992 when I visited the area with my much younger family.

mountains4-AMountains and clouds.

mountain7Mountains and homes in Estes Park.

riverThe Pouder River canyon west of Ft. Collins is quite scenic and worth the drive if you have the time. My oldest daughter and I took a float trip on this river on our vacation in the 1990’s. It was a good day.

About Truman

I find myself on the downside of my sixtieth year, older but not old, wiser but not wise, and still wondering what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Northern Colorado

  1. gpcox says:

    Have you stopped posting on Scratchpad?

    • Truman says:

      No, I still use Scratchpad when the inspiration strikes me, which hasn’t happened lately. I use this other one as a kind of travel journal. I should probably combine them someday.

Leave a Reply

